Homeowners may need to provide their Warranty Deed book and page, proof of residence, social security numbers, driver’s license and car tag information.  In most counties, to be eligible for the current year, you must have owned and occupied the property as of January 1. If the property is located within city limits, the homeowner may be required to file with the city as well. 

Homestead Exemption:  Generally, a homeowner is entitled to a homestead exemption on their home and land underneath provided the home was owned by the landowner and was their legal residence as of January 1st of the taxable year (O.C.G.A. Sect. 48-5-40) 

Application for Homestead Exemption:   To be granted a homestead exemption, a person must actually occupy the home and the home is considered their legal residence for all purposes.   Persons that are away from their home because of health reasons will not be denied homestead exemption.  A family member or friend can notify the tax receiver/commissioner and the homestead exemption will be granted (O.C.G.A. Sect. 48-5-40).   Failure to apply by the deadline will result in loss of the exemption for that year.

Exemptions Offered by the State & Counties:  The State of Georgia offers homestead exemptions to all qualifying homeowners.  In some counties, they have increased the amounts of their homestead exemptions by local legislation above the amounts offered by the State.  As a general rule, the exemptions offered by the county are more beneficial to the homeowner.  For more information, click here. 

The deadline to file is April 1 for most Georgia Counties, but make sure to check with your local County Tax Commissioner’s office to file and save.

Here are links to several counties’ websites for more information on filing your Homestead Exemption:

Cherokee County:  678-493-6120

Clayton County:      770-477-3311

Cobb County:         770-528-8600

Decatur City:              404-370-4100

(If you live in the City of Decatur, you must apply for BOTH Decatur and Dekalb).

DeKalb County:     404-298-4000

Douglas County:    770-920-7272

Fayette County:     770-461-3652

Forsyth County:     770-781-2106

Fulton County:       404-612-6440

Gwinnett County:   770-822-8800

Henry County:        770-288-8180

Paulding County:   770-443-7606

Don’t forget to file and save!